Skip to content

New Release(s) – Gosick 01-02

January 15, 2011

*hears the sighs of disappointment*
But hey, take a look at the picture, how could we pick anything but this?

<insert long list of excuses for such a delayed release>
Tl;dr I was planning to encode this, hardsubbing the karaoke, but shit went to hell and back, so I ended up making karaoke that doesn’t make shit explode when softsubbed. And then I was  like “What the heck, the second episode airs in 3 hours, I’ll wait for that one and have a double-release.”, so here it is, a double release.
And in case there are people still running an i486, I added a secondary subtitle track with just plain {\k} tags.
And then there’s a third track as well. This one has all the regular Japanese honorifics (and karaoke effects), since I decided to leave them out for this show. I mean, it is set in Europe after all. Yes I do know that the main guy is Japanese. I am totally prepared to take the shitstorm of rage from all the weeaboos who want those honorifics no matter where it’s set.
Lastly, a fourth track for i486 users who want honorifics.
Screw all the extra tracks, it’s too much :effort:
It can’t be helped. ┐( ̄ー ̄)┌

Also, know how this is show has the best ED this season. And the OP’s great too.

So anyway, as usual, torrent goes here (ep01/ep02), FS (ep01/ep02) and MU (ep01/ep02), and bots go in #Derp-Subs@rizon.net.

Edit: Re-added the torrents. I love my connection speed. So those old ones are now dead. Torrent links updated to new ones.
Edit2: As for the complaints that the karaoke is lagging, check your ffdshow settings. Or actually, any settings related to K-lite. Inb4 check your DXVA settings.
Edit3: Another thing, more polling, this time, Victorique vs. Victorica.

Edit4: So, I made patches for both episode (ep01 completely unnecessary, just changed the standard sub font to “Century Gothic”). Ep01 patch and ep02 patch. Oh and yeah, because people have inferior pc’s that can’t even handle the simplest of karaoke effects (or they just fail with their settings), I also added a secondary track with regular {\k} tags. And I am disappointed in myself for going this far. ಠ_ಠ
Edit5: As a wise guy said, “just use DXVA”. That apparently fixes the karaoke lag, even for terribad PC’s.
Edit6: Wow, seriously, why didn’t anyone mention that the episode title for ep2v2 says “Episode 1”? Biggest mistake evar, sorry ’bout that.

– Oosran

41 Comments leave one →
  1. priszero permalink
    February 13, 2011 08:48

    err, can i have any v3 patch for eps 2..??
    concerning the eps title error..

    • February 13, 2011 11:43

      Is it really bothering you that much?
      As in, really, really? >_>
      I mean, this isn’t really something you’d actually care about, is it?

      • priszero permalink
        February 16, 2011 14:58

        errr, sorry, i don’t think that my comment will be on the top..
        I was looking at the bottom and guessed my comment wasn’t really submitted that time..
        Hontou ni sumimasen..
        Well i don’t insist on v3, i’ll try fix it myself..

        • February 16, 2011 15:28

          Well, might do something about it later, for some ep1-12 batch or so.

          • priszero permalink
            February 17, 2011 13:02

            thanks, that is good enough for me..
            m(_ _)m

  2. priszero permalink
    February 11, 2011 05:12

    any v3 patch for eps 2..??
    concerning the eps title.. XD

    • February 11, 2011 08:56

      :effort:
      And I don’t like v3’s.
      So maybe sometime later.

  3. January 28, 2011 05:56

    Awesome to see yah subbing again. I’ll watch anything you sub

  4. Newcomer permalink
    January 25, 2011 12:20

    I’ve been watching your subs since I first found out about LOL Heroes, but now that I’m watching Gosick I’ve finally noticed that you guys encode chapters in your mkv files. Nobody else does that and it’s awesomely convenient! (Knowing from experience, it’s not that hard either so I don’t understand why most subbers don’t do it.) No more guessing when the OP and ED are over. Those things get old after a couple episodes!
    Thanks guys!

    • January 25, 2011 12:22

      Wait, wait, wait.
      I was under the impression that pretty much all groups did added chapters >_>
      Anyway, we didn’t do that for the LOLHeroes releases. So you “finally noticed” because they weren’t there until now (:

  5. vua permalink
    January 24, 2011 21:12

    I took some japanese class while back in school and the reason why your friend’s name is Niku is because japanese characters are in pairs like ki, ko, ke, ku, ka and aside from “n” they always go pairs. Can’t really end it with a K now can you and ku would make the most sense for its sound. So they’d write the name in two characters in katakana as “ni” and “ku”.

    Back on topic love the picture haha.

  6. TitanAnteus permalink
    January 24, 2011 08:59

    Guys this show is great… I liked the LOL Heroes and now I’m in love with this series. The last anime season the LOL series was my favorite too. This season Gosick is in my top 3 in the current market.

    Dragon Crisis’s OP is just a tad better…

  7. Feannatar permalink
    January 22, 2011 00:17

    Thanks for the release. As for my opinion about honorifics: it’s in Europe, so they should be dropped as you did. As for Victorica vs. Victorique, erm. I’m not fluent in French so I might have made a wrong assumption about the pronunciation but at the first glance Victorique seems to better fit the setting, however after hearing them actually say the ァ at the end I wonder about that…

    • Ryan permalink
      January 22, 2011 03:12

      Have you ever heard a japanese person end with a K sound? from what I can tell they always add something at the end.

      I have a friend who went there. his name was nick but they called him something like Niku or something

      I still think Victorique is the best way to spell it even if it’s not phonetically the way a japanese person would (or could) pronounce it.

    • Ryan permalink
      January 22, 2011 03:28

      It’s really just a made up name.

      However her last name is clearly French.

      Victorique de Blois

      Not to mention, their school has a French name, lots of people in the show have French names.

      Let’s look at French words to see any examples.

      Africa = Afrique
      Basilica = Basilique
      Monica = Monique

      Then Victorica (made up) = Victorique

      If you look at her last name it’s definitely French, so it would make sense that her first name would have a french spelling.

      So anyone other than myself who is a little familiar with French, how many words can you think of that end with -ica?

Leave a Reply

