Skip to content

Small update

January 10, 2011


Just wanted to tell y’all that we’re not dead.
We’ve picked up a new show, which will be announced as soon as we’re ready to release it. Currently, we’re delaying due to various reasons, the biggest one being that I ordered a new PC, and I thought I’d wait with doing anything until I get it.

As for those waiting for more LOLHeroes BD releases, those are also postponed until after I get my new PC.

Curious question: What resolution do you prefer to watch anime in? (Note: Preferably what your PC can handle as well.)

At the very least, I’m expecting at least a TV release of our new show by the end of the week.
We’ll also be doing things slightly differently from now on, so we’ll see how it turns out.

Stay tuned for more \o/

Edit: Planning a double-release, less work for me, more wait for you, and more awesome at the same time.

– Oosran

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Ryan permalink
    January 21, 2011 23:08

    I think 720p is the best compromise between quality and filesize.

    I watch it fullscreen on 22″ widescreen monitor and it looks great.

  2. nkthepro permalink
    January 16, 2011 07:59

    Oh forgot to mention: My PC can handle anything, I download some movies in Full HD (1080p) if I really like them. For live-action movies the quality difference between 720 & 1080p actually is noticeable, for anime it’s just a waste of hdd space (too be honest you don’t even see much difference between 480 & 720p for most TV rips.. but meh I have to draw a line somewhere :p).

    Also saw some people talking about audio here.. I prefer AAC tbh. I mean, FLAC is great, but honestly does anyone actually hear any difference ? I’m using a 5.1 surround system and I don’t hear any difference at all, except that the file size is like 2x as big. MP3 is outdated.. I’m surprised most music is still released in mp3 but yeah whatever.

  3. nkthepro permalink
    January 16, 2011 07:41

    I prefer 720p. Most of the time the quality difference between 720 & 1080p isn’t noticeable at all (especially not on animated series). Besides, the file-size of an episode in 1080p can go as high as 1GB, which is really a bit much imo…

    720p just seems right for me (quality / filesize).

  4. dszx permalink
    January 15, 2011 22:47

    Highest possible res for airing shows (Usually 720p).

    1080p for finished series.

  5. January 14, 2011 14:58

    Cool, Rio Rainbow Gate by Derp. Looking forward to it.

  6. Anon permalink
    January 14, 2011 07:33

    I prefer to watch my animu in 288p rmvb hardsubs, preferably around 30MB in size (good balance between quality and size). Makes for a quick download and takes up less space in my archive.

  7. Kim_Pine permalink
    January 14, 2011 02:41

    Hurry up and release it faggot.

  8. Zaton permalink
    January 12, 2011 20:24

    720 :>

  9. FlacBoy permalink
    January 12, 2011 01:16

    I prefer 720p FLAC; a nice resolution thats easily playable with an extremely nice audio quality.

  10. amen665 permalink
    January 11, 2011 15:06

    720p is fine. 1080p is overkill and waste of space imo.

  11. lulu_ono permalink
    January 11, 2011 11:25

    I prefer 1080p, since my pc can take anything u can throw at it, and hooked up to my hdtv. but for most show 720p is good, all i care is for the best pic quality.

    btw.. Oosran, wht kind of pc did you ordered?

    • January 11, 2011 11:33

      Well to be precise, I just ordered the parts.
      Not the best PC around, actually (would’ve been too expensive). Tl;dr 3.3GHz i5, 8GB DDR3 RAM and a Radeon HD5850 1GB GDDR5, with a motherboard supporting CrossFire to use with my old 5770. And a chassis and stuff.

  12. Ashitaka permalink
    January 11, 2011 09:01

    The difference between SD and HD for anime is so marginal that it’s nowhere near worth the massive file size increase. Seriously, even among different kinds of animation, anime is specifically known for large amounts of corner-cutting and still shots with mouths flapping. You don’t need to make a 500 MB file to watch that with good quality video. 480p SD is just fine, and 720 is okay. 1080p HD is downright silly, most major stations don’t even actually broadcast programming in 1080 HD.

    • January 11, 2011 09:40

      Don’t listen to him, Oosran, gimme my LOLH already, make it
      3Gb for a single file!

    • shani permalink
      January 11, 2011 10:53

      There is a huge difference between 480p, 720p and 1080p unless you are using a system that cannot cope up with high end resolutions or doesn’t have the screen/graphics resolution of the higher one.

      If you are trying to convince me that the likes of Gundam Unicorn, DenYuuDen, Angel Beats!, Macross Frontier and many many shows out there not worth at least 720p, then I there is no point reading from here onwards.

      But I will admit that 720p is more reasonable because:

      1. Most of the people these days watch anime in 720p resolution. Source: Nyaatorrents.

      2. The file sizes are reasonable with the HDDs available these days and also the increased speed of the network worldwide.

      3. 1080p files tend to be too huge for transfer/bandwidth and also requires a lot of processing speed to run them, and unless you have a high end desktop/ insane laptop or HDTV, the files are NOT worth the space and bandwidth you are compromising.

  13. shani permalink
    January 11, 2011 04:40

    I have an update. It will be a series that will come with fabulous karaoke. XD

    The series itself is still a secret. :P

  14. Falllen permalink
    January 10, 2011 20:53

    Nice, I was afraid you were kidnapped again by the aliens or something, but well, now, I’ll wait to see the new show you picked up.

Leave a Reply

